December 10, 2022

BulSU Advocates Ending Violence Against Women

In line with the campaign to end Violence Against Women, the Bulacan State University held the convocation program of an 18-day campaign with the theme “United for a VAW-FREE Philppines”. The event was conducted at the BulSU Valencia Hall, on November 28, 2022 and was spearheaded by the Gender and Development Center (GADC).

By Media Relations Office

The invocation was led by Dr. Agnes DR. Crisostomo, member of the GAD Technical Working group followed by the opening remarks of Dr. Romeo DC. Inasoria Chancellor for Main Campus and Member of the GAD Executive Committee.

As the program continued, the University President and the Chair of the GAD Executive Committee, Dr. Cecilia S. Navasero-Gascon delivered her inspirational message. In her message, she emphasized the importance of awareness regarding violence against women-children. She also stated that violence is not only limited to women, and that as we protect our women and children, we must also protect all kinds of life.

The keynote speaker was introduced by Dr. Edgardo M. Santos, Vice President for Academic Affairs and also a member of the GAD Committee. The Representative of the Lone District of San Jose Del Monte, Hon. Florida P. Robes was ably represented by her Atty. Stephen Humiwat. As he delivered his speech, he expressed some important points on what to do if women and children have been violated. He also stated that women should not be afraid to confront any kind of violation others may do to them.

The speech was followed by the Ceremonial Signing of Commitment to end VAWC thereafter, the Vice President for Administration and Finance, also a member of the GAD Executive Committee, Dr. Jaime P. Pulumbarit preceded the Message of Appreciation and the Awarding of Plaque. Engr. Erwin DR. Magsakay, Vice President for Research, Development and Extension, also a member of the GAD Committee provided the closing remarks who ensured that BulSU will be a safe space and VAW-free institution for all students, faculty, and staff.